AAE Boilermakers honored as AIAA Associate Fellows for 2024

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) elected three Boilermakers to its 130-member class of 2024 Associate Fellows – all of them affiliated with the Purdue School of Aeronautics and Astronautics. These new associate fellows are:

Scott Meyer, Managing Director of Maurice J. Zucrow Laboratories (joint appointment with Mechanical Engineering). “For outstanding contributions to the development of sophisticated, state-of-the-art rocket and gas turbine test facilities and for rigorous training of numerous students in propulsion testing.”
Michael Sangid, Reilly Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics. “For the advancement of microstructure-based models and in-situ experiments, for rapid qualification and integration of design, manufacturing, and fatigue life analysis of aerospace materials and structures.”
Haifeng Wang, Associate Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics. “For contributions to the development of advanced turbulent combustion models and high-fidelity simulations for aerospace propulsion systems.”
AIAA elects associate fellows in recognition of important engineering or scientific work, or other “outstanding contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics.” Associate fellows are senior members in good standing, with at least 12 years of professional experience. The Institute will formally honor and induct the class on January 10, during their 2024 SciTech Forum.

“The AIAA Associate Fellows personify the innovation that drives our industry forward,” said Dan Dumbacher, AIAA executive director. “The members of the Class of 2024 Associate Fellows embody the ingenuity and commitment that are crucial for developing solutions to the complex questions raised across the aerospace community.”

Find the full member list at AIAA’s website.

Read the full story here

Scroll to Top